Ready to start your research? Try some of the databases below, or use our Multidatabase Search for an even broader search.
Still stuck? Sign up for a customized Research Appointment to maximize your research time!
A bibliographic database currently containing close to 6 million records and references to more than 5,000 engineering journals and conferences. Covers many engineering fields including: Civil engineering; Mechanical engineering; Electronics and communications engineering; Aerospace engineering; Engineering management; Nuclear technology; Computers and data processing; and Applied physics, among several other areas. Format: Citations/Abstracts, some full-text articles available.
INSPEC - created by The IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology), is the leading bibliographic database providing abstracts and indexing to the world's scientific and technical papers in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computing and information technology. Containing over 7 million records, INSPEC provides coverage from over 3,500 journals, 1,500 conference proceedings as well as numerous books, dissertations and reports from 1969 forward.
- ICE Virtual Library
The ICE Virtual Library hosts all the content from ICE Publishing, the publishing division of the Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE).
ScienceDirect is the online portal of Elsevier, one of the world's largest providers of scientific and technical literature, encompassing 1800+ journals, from 1995 forward. AFIT does not subscribe to all journals in ScienceDirect. A green key or flag indicates access. The Library also has access to certain ebooks on this portal.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for thousands of journals, including full text for many peer-reviewed titles and PDF backfiles to 1886. Some useful subjects in this database include business, marketing, management, and economics.
ProTip: Choose multiple EbscoHOST databases to maximize your search results. We recommend Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete, and MasterFILE Complete.
- SciTech Connect
SciTech Connect is a portal to free, publicly-available DOE-sponsored R&D results including technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia and data information. SciTech Connect is a consolidation of two core DOE search engines, the Information Bridge and the Energy Citations Database. SciTech Connect incorporates all of the R&D information from these two products into one search interface. SciTech Connect was developed by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) to increase access to science, technology, and engineering research information from DOE and its predecessor agencies.
- EDTEWeb World Energy Database
The ETDEWEB World Energy Base contains over 4,732,000 literature references, with direct access to 465,000 reports in full text, and many thousands of links to sites worldwide where the documents cited can be obtained.