This is the "Patents" page of the "Patents" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Patents   Tags: patents, science  

Last Updated: Jun 25, 2014 URL: http://afit.libguides.com/patents Print Guide Email Alerts
Patents Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is a Patent? Definition..

According to the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO), a patent is defined as "an intellectual property right granted by the Government of the United States of America to an inventor “to exclude others from making, using, offering for sale, or selling the invention throughout the United States or importing the invention into the United States” for a limited time in exchange for public disclosure of the invention when the patent is granted."

U.S. Patent and Trademark Office Database

Quick access to the USPTO full-text patent search database.

Google Patents Search

Did you know that you can find full descriptions of patents through Google Patents Search?  All 8 million patents available through Google Patents originate from the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO), the European Patent Office (EPO), and the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO).

 

Books Avialable at the Library

Cover Art
Fundamentals of Patenting and Licensing for Scientists and Engineers - Matthew Y. Ma
Call Number: T339 .M3 2009
ISBN: 9789812834201
Publication Date: 2009-03-09
This book is the first of its kind to teach scientists and engineers how to go beyond simply getting a patent granted. It covers various aspects, from basic concepts of patent laws, patent preparation to patent post granting, in an easy-to-understand language for inventors. It also introduces the basis of patent licensing and related business aspects, helping inventors create patents that can be better capitalized. Through the author's extensive scientific background and experience, it provides common pitfalls and tips on how an inventor should assist in all phases of patent filing, prosecution and licensing.

Cover Art
How to Invent and Protect Your Invention - Elyse N. Ball (As told to); Joseph P. Kennedy; Wayne H. Watkins
Call Number: KF3114.85 .K46 2012
ISBN: 9781118369371
Publication Date: 2012-08-28
A straightforward guide to inventing, patenting, and technology commercialization for scientists and engineers Although chemists, physicists, biologists, polymer scientists, and engineers in industry are involved in potentially patentable work, they are often under-prepared for this all-important field. This book provides a clear, jargon-free, and comprehensive overview of the patenting process tailored specifically to the needs of scientists and engineers.

Cover Art
Intellectual Property in Academia - Nadya Reingand (Editor)
Call Number: KF3114.85 .I58 2012
ISBN: 9781439837009
Publication Date: 2011-10-24
Given the increasing role of intellectual property (IP) in academic research, it is important for academic scientists to gain greater awareness and knowledge of the various issues involved with IP resulting from their research and inventions. In addition, the line between academic and industrial research has been blurred, and a large amount of crossover exists due to corporate funding of academic research and collaborations between company and university laboratories. These and other factors have complicated the push toward technology transfer in universities. The book covers the best approaches to determine invention novelty by prior art searching and gives step-by-step guidance in using the best modern electronic patent databases. It presents a unique practical approach for assessing the monetary value of ideas and provides software for invention valuation, which can be used even during the early stages of an inventions (tm)development. The book also discusses invention ownership, which is a crucial issue for scientists employed by universities. It also provides practical advice on patent writing, filing, and prosecution, useful for both academic and industrial researchers.

Cover Art
Patent Law Essentials - Alan L. Durham
Call Number: KF3114.85 .D87 2013
ISBN: 9781440828782
Publication Date: 1995-04-01
Business has always been driven by ingenuity and innovation. Now more than ever, with an economy built on intangible business intelligence and digital yield, developing and protectingintellectual property is vital for individuals and organizations alike. This book presents a brief but thorough survey of United States patent law. Drawing from both practical and academic experience, author Alan Durham explains the fundamental principles of the subject and reviews recent changes in legislation affecting its practice. Patent Law Essentials: A Concise Guide, Fourth Edition explains the latest revisions to the protections and limitations of patent law and includes recent Supreme Court decisions concerning the patentability of software, business methods, and advancements in biotech. An engaging writing style makes the technical content accessible to novice and expert practitioners alike.

AFIT Research Librarian

Profile Image
ENC / ENP Liaison Librarian
Contact Info
DSN: 785-3636 x4206
COMM:937-255-6565 x4206
Send Email

Additional Information from the USPTO

  • Laws, Regulations, Policies & Procedures
    The following laws, regulations, policies, and procedures apply to the patent process. The information above was correct at the time of original publication. Please be aware that some information may no longer be applicable.
  • Resources and Guidance
    Here you will find policies, procedures, guides, tools and manuals are associated with the patent process. Please be aware that some of the information may no longer be applicable.
  • USPTO Fee Schedule
    Fees effective as of January 1, 2014 (Last Revised on March 13, 2014)

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip